Altai Tavan Bogd national park
Mongolia has three major mountain ranges. The highest is the Altai mountains, which stretch across the western and the southwestern regions of the country. The Altai Mountains are divided between Mongolia, Russia, China and Kazakhstan. The Mongolian part of the Tavan Bogd massif is within the Altai Tavan bogd national park. The park covers 6362km2. It includes the lakes Khoton, Khurgan, and Dayan. The protected area offers a home for many species of Alpine animals, such as the Argali sheep, ibex (wild goat), red deer, Beach marten, Snow cock, and Golden eagle. Altai Tavan Bogd is a mountain massif in western corner of Mongolia on the border with China and Russia. It's highest peak is the "Khuiten" (cold) is the highest of the five peaks of Tavan Bogd mountains at 4374 meter above the sea level. Besides the Khuiten peak Tavan Bogd massif includes four other peaks: Nairamdal, Malchin, Burged (eagle), Olgii (motherland). Altai Tavan Bogd national parks has some of the most stunning scenery in all of Mongolia with towering white mountains, glacier, deep lush valleys , and large lakes. The park is divided into 2 regions, the Tavan Bogd Mountains in the northwest and the lakes region to the southwest. Also it is the home of some truly unique nomadic peoples: Mongolian Kazakhs and Tuvan ethnic groups.